William and Mary Law School

Supreme Court Preview

The opening Moot Court session at the 2014 Preview

IBRL's annual Supreme Court Preview brings together Supreme Court advocates, journalists, law professors, and practitioners to preview significant cases that have been granted cert for the upcoming term of the Supreme Court of the United States. A highlight of the event is the Moot Court, during which seasoned advocates argue a controversial up-coming case. The Preview is nationally recognized for providing insight into the upcoming term. 

2014 Preview

The Institute of Bill of Rights Law, William & Mary Law School, held the 27th Annual Supreme Court Preview on September 19 & 20, 2014, to mark the commencement of the new term of the United States Supreme Court.  The Preview brought together leading Supreme Court journalists, advocates, legal scholars, and federal court judges for a day and a half to discuss and analyze the Court’s upcoming term.

The Supreme Court Preview is nationally recognized for providing unique insights into the upcoming term, often from the very advocates slated to argue the cases before the Court.  The Preview opened on Friday, September 19, 2014 at 5 pm with a Moot Court on one of the most visible cases for which the Court has granted certiorari by the summer of 2014.  The focus was on the Affordable Care Act case that split the DC and Fourth Circuits.  Arguing this year were Andrew J. Pincus (Mayer, Brown) and Michael A. Scodro (Jenner & Block).

Read more about the 2014 Supreme Court Preview.

For a full itinerary of the events at this year's preview, see the 2014 Schedule of Events (pdf). 

Participants included:
Jeffrey Bellin, William & Mary Law School
Joan Biskupic, Reuters
Beth Brinkmann, Deputy Assistant Attorney General, DOJ
Erwin Chemerinsky, Dean, U Cal, Irvine School of Law
Paul Clement, Bancroft
Walter Dellinger, O'Melveny & Myers
Jeff Fisher, Stanford Law School
Gregg Garre, Latham & Watkins
Irving Gornstein, Georgetown Law
Tara Grove,William & Mary Law School
Pam Karlan, Deputy Assistant Attorney General, DOJ
Neal Katyal, Hogan Lovells
Allison Orr Larsen, William & Mary Law School
Adam Liptak, The New York Times
Dahlia Lithwick, Slate.com
Patricia Millett, U.S. Court of Appeals, DC Circuit
Erin Murphy, Bancroft
Andrew J. Pincus, Mayer Brown
David Savage, The Los Angeles Times
Michael A. Scodro, Jenner & Block
Kannon Shanmugam, Williams & Connolly
Paul Smith, Jenner & Block
Greg Stohr, Bloomberg News
Jeffrey Sutton, U.S. Court of Appeals, 6th Circuit
Tim Zick, William & Mary Law School

For more information on our distinguished participants, be sure to read their full bios (pdf).


E-mail: Institute of Bill of Rights Law
Phone: (757) 221-3810
Watch us on YouTube: Click Here
Past Preview information:  http://scholarship.law.wm.edu/preview/