Faculty: A number of law school faculty members with strong international reputations participate in the work of the Program. They include:


José M. de Areilza, Count of Rodas, is the Jean Monnet Visiting Professor at William and Mary School of Law. He is Professor of Law & Jean Monnet Chair at ESADE, Ramón Llull University, Barcelona. He is also Secretary General of Aspen Institute España, a partner institution of The Aspen Institute in the USA, that works on Leadership, Values and Public Policies. He has served as Advisor to the Spanish Prime Minister on European and North American affairs. He has written extensively about European integration, EU decision making and institutional reform. He is a Member of the European Council on Foreign Relations and a Senior Research Fellow at Elcano Royal Institute. In 2016 he was appointed Academy Adjunct Faculty at the Royal Institute of International Affairs -Chatham House, London. He serves as the Chairman of the British-Spanish Tertulias, a civil society friendship group between two countries. José M. de Areilza holds S.J.D. and LL.M. degrees from Harvard University and an M.A. from The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy. In 1991 he was admitted tothe New York Bar.

Barzilay photo Judge Judith Barzilay is a Professor of Practice in International Trade Law. Judge Barzilay began her career in international trade law from 1983 to 1986 as a staff attorney in the U.S. Department of Justice, International Trade Field Office. From 1986 to 1988, she practiced with Siegel, Mandell and Davidson in their litigation group, where she appeared regularly before the United States Court of International Trade, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, and government agencies regulating international trade. In 1988, she joined Sony Corporation of America as its first in-house customs and international trade counsel and was promoted to vice-president for import and export operations in 1989. From 1993 to 1998, Judge Barzilay served on the executive board of the American Association of Exporters and Importers. In 1995, she was appointed by Treasury Secretary Robert Rubin to his Advisory Committee on Commercial Operations of the United States Customs Service. In 1998, Judge Barzilay was appointed by President Clinton to the United States Court of International Trade. Judge Barzilay retired from hearing cases in 2015 to devote herself to law school teaching, although she remains a member of the court. In her seventeen years on the bench, she has handled cases in the areas of customs law, antidumping and countervailing duties, and trade adjustment assistance.
prof butler Jay Butler graduated magna cum laude with highest honors from Harvard University.  Selected as a Rhodes Scholar in his senior year, he went to the United Kingdom to study at Oxford University, where he earned a B.A. in jurisprudence.  He then earned his Juris Doctor degree from Yale Law School, where he was an editor of the Yale Journal of International Law.  Butler joins William & Mary from Columbia Law School, where he was the Kellis E. Parker Teaching Fellow.  Prof. Buter's areas of specialization include international law, international business transactions, contracts, and trade regulations.
combsphoto Nancy Combs is the Ernest W. Goodrich Professor of Law, the Kelly Chair of Teaching Excellence, and the Director of the Human Security Law ProgramProfessor Combs received her J. D. from the University of California at Berkeley and her Ph.D. from Leiden University. Following law school she clerked for Justice Anthony Kennedy at the Supreme Court of the United States and served as Legal Advisor at the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal at the Hague. Her areas of specialization include International Law, International Criminal Law, and International Human Rights Law. 
criddlephoto Evan Criddle is a Professor of Law at William & Mary Law School. Professor Criddle received his J.D. from Yale Law School, where he served as Essays Editor of the Yale Law Journal and Articles Editor of the Yale Journal of International Law. Following law school, he clerked for the Honorable J. Clifford Wallace of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and spent several years at Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP in New York representing foreign sovereigns, multinational corporations, and political refugees. His specializations include public international law, international legal theory, and international human rights.
malonephoto Linda Malone is a Marshall-Wythe Foundation Professor of Law. She is a member of the American Law Institute and serves on the Board of Directors for the International Society for the Reform of Criminal Law. Professor Malone has received a number of grants and awards for her research and work on international issues. She was awarded the 2009-10 Fulbright Chair in International Environmental Law at the University of Turin, Italy.  Her areas of expertise include Middle Eastern and European Comparative Law; Comparative and Foreign Law; Environmental Law; Human Rights Law; International Criminal Law; International Law; National Security Law; and Transitional Justice.

Christie S. Warrenthe 2016-2017 Fulbright Schuman Distinguished Chair at the European University Institute in Florence, is Professor of the Practice of International and Comparative Law and founding Director of the Center for Comparative Legal Studies and Post-Conflict Peacebuilding. Her areas of specialization include Comparative Law, Comparative Constitutional Systems, Public International Law, Post-Conflict Justice, International Human Rights Law, Civil Code Systems and Islamic Law. She was named the 1998-1999 Supreme Court Fellow at the Supreme Court of the United States and served as the 2010-2011 Senior Expert in Constitutional Issues for the United Nations Department of Political Affairs Mediation Support Unit Standby Team. Between 2007 and 2016 she served as Senior Technical Advisor to the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance's Constitution Building Processes Programme at the Hague. Warren is a graduate of the Harvard Mediation Program and the recipient of the Administration of Justice Award “In Recognition of Significant Contributions to the International Administration of Justice and the Rule of Law”,  awarded by the Supreme Court Fellows Alumni Association.