Twelve Alumni Receive 2008 LRAP Awards

The Loan Repayment Assistance Program Committee has selected twelve alumni to receive 2008 awards from the Law School's Loan Repayment Assistance Program (LRAP).

Initially established to honor Professor Emeritus John Levy, the program is supported by endowments and gifts from alumni and friends. Through the LRAP, graduates who work for private non-profit organizations or government employers are eligible to apply for up to $5,000 annually in loan forgiveness for a maximum of three years. Marshall-Wythe's LRAP has provided forgivable loans totaling $129,000 to 23 graduates since 2005.

People from across the Law School community serve on the selection committee each year. The 2008 committee is comprised of faculty members Jayne Barnard, Eric Chason, and John Levy; Law School Association members Judy Conti '94 and Dave Dalke '93; Jennie Cordis '08, co-chair of the student body's Public Service Fund; and senior administrators Terri Lorincz, Rob Kaplan, Sally Kellam, and Faye Shealy.

"LRAP has become a reality, thanks to the generosity of alumni and friends of the Law School," said Rob Kaplan, Chair of the selection committee and Associate Dean for Career Services and Public Service Initiatives and Director of Externships. "Their financial support of LRAP allows our graduates to perform extremely important work for the public good."

New awards for 2008:

Julian Carr '07, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (Norfolk, VA)

Tiffany Carwile '07, Ashland County Prosecutor (Ashland, OH)

James Krueger '06, Haramaya Faculty of Law (Dire Dawa, Ethiopia)

Alexis McLeod '07, Public Law Center (Santa Ana, CA)

Elizabeth Peiffer '05, Georgia Capital Defender (Atlanta, GA)

Marilyn Seide '07, Chester County District Attorney (West Chester, PA)

Dathan Young '06, Blue Ridge Legal Services (Harrisonburg, VA)

Awards renewed from 2007:

Lori Barstow '05, Legal Aid Society of Eastern Virginia (Norfolk, VA)

Lauren Cerminaro '06, Franklin County Prosecuting Attorney (Columbus, OH)

William Hamilton '05, Halifax County Commonwealth's Attorney (Halifax, VA)

Robert Pealo '06, Newport News City Attorney (Newport News, VA)

Kristy Fox Ratterree '06, Florida Public Defender, 10th Judicial Circuit (Bartow, FL)