Thirteen Alumni Receive 2009 LRAP Awards

The Loan Repayment Assistance Program Committee recently selected thirteen alumni to receive 2009 awards from the Law School's Loan Repayment Assistance Program (LRAP).

Initially established to honor Professor Emeritus John Levy, the program is supported by endowments and gifts from alumni and friends. Through the LRAP, graduates who work for private non-profit organizations or government employers are eligible to apply for up to $5,000 annually in loan forgiveness for a maximum of three years. Marshall-Wythe's LRAP has provided forgivable loans totaling $174,000 to 28 graduates since 2005.

People from across the  Law School community serve on the selection committee each year.  Members of the 2009 committee included  Professor Jim Dwyer and Professor Emeritus John Levy;  Law School Association members Judy Conti '94 and Dave Dalke '93; Sarah Bellinger '09,  Co-Chair of the student body's Public Service Fund; and senior administrators Terri Lorincz, Rob Kaplan, Sally Kellam, and Faye Shealy.

 "LRAP is flourishing, thanks to the enthusiastic support lent by Taylor Reveley and Lynda Butler during their deanships, and the continuing generosity of many alumni and friends of the Law School," said Rob Kaplan, Chair of the selection committee and Associate Dean for Career Services and Public Service Initiatives, and Director of Externships. "This program provides well-deserved loan forgiveness to alumni who are doing important work for the public good."

New awards for 2009:
 J. Alex Chasick '08 - Consumers Union (Washington, DC)
Geraldine Doetzer '08 - Legal Aid Justice Center (Petersburg, VA)
Kelly Gastley '05 - Philadelphia Volunteers for the Indigent Program (Philadelphia, PA)
Rajdeep Jolly '06 - Sikh American Legal Defense and Education Fund (Arlington, VA)
Sarah Landres '08 - New Hampshire Public Defender (Dover, NH)

Awards renewed from 2007 and/or 2008:
Julian Carr '07 - People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (Norfolk, VA)
Tiffany Carwile '07 - Ashland County Prosecutor (Ashland, OH)
Lauren Cerminaro '06 ­ -  Franklin County Prosecuting Attorney (Columbus, OH)
James Krueger '06 - Haramaya Faculty of Law (Dire Dawa, Ethiopia)
Alexis McLeod '07 - Public Law Center (Santa Ana, CA)
Robert Pealo '06 - Newport News City Attorney (Newport News, VA)
Kristy Fox Ratterree '06 - Florida Public Defender, 10th Judicial Circuit (Bartow, FL)
Dathan Young '06 - Blue Ridge Legal Services (Harrisonburg, VA)