IBRL Hosts Annual Supreme Court Preview on Sept. 24-25

Since 1988 the Institute of Bill of Rights Law at William & Mary Law School has marked the commencement of the new term of the U.S. Supreme Court with its annual Supreme Court Preview. The Preview brings together distinguished lawyers, judges, journalists, and law professors from around the country to discuss and analyze the Court's upcoming term. Panelists for the 2010 Preview on Sept. 24-25 will include many of the nation's leading legal scholars, two federal appeals court judges, 11 lawyers who have argued a combined total of 210 cases before the Court, and six journalists who cover the Court for media such as National Public Radio, the New York Times, SCOTUSblog, USA Today, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.  Registration is $325. For more information contact IBRL@wm.edu or call (757)221-3810.

The Preview begins on Friday at 6:30 PM with a moot court proceeding of Schwarzenegger v. Entertainment Merchants Association, in which two experienced Supreme Court advocates will present arguments before a mock panel of justices. The moot court will be followed by panels on Justice Elena Kagan and a retrospective on the Roberts Court. On Saturday, panels will discuss upcoming cases which involve business law, criminal law, the First Amendment, and individual rights. The program also will feature lunchtime breakout sessions on topics such as enemy combatants and President Obama, election law, and the role of the solicitor general.  A panel on federalism concludes the Preview.

Distinguished participants in the 2010 Preview include:

Debo P. Adegbile, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund

Joan Biskupic, USA Today

Jess Bravin, The Wall Street Journal

Beth S. Brinkmann, Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Civil Division, U.S. Department of Justice

Erwin Chemerinsky, Dean, University of California, Irvine School of Law

Paul D. Clement, King & Spalding

Charles J. Cooper, Cooper & Kirk

Ted Cruz, Morgan Lewis & Bockius

Walter Dellinger, O'Melveny & Myers; Duke Law School

Lyle Denniston, SCOTUSblog

Davison M. Douglas, Dean, William & Mary Law School

James Dwyer, William & Mary Law School

Gregory C. Garre, Latham & Watkins

Thomas C. Goldstein, Akin Gump

Linda Greenhouse, Yale Law School

Pam Karlan, Stanford Law School

Allison Orr Larsen, William & Mary Law School

Adam Liptak, The New York Times

Michael W. McConnell, Stanford Law School

Glen Nager, Jones Day

Carter G. Phillips, Sidley Austin

David Savage, The Los Angeles Times

Jeffrey S. Sutton, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

William Van Alstyne, William & Mary Law School

Timothy Zick, William & Mary Law School

Editor's Note: A pre-Preview panel on Proposition 8 and the Supreme Court will be held at the Law School at 4:00 pm on Sept. 24.  Admission is free to this 4:00 pm event and all are welcome.