Law School to Host Ninth Annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference on Oct. 11-12

William & Mary Law School will host the Ninth Annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference on Oct. 11-12. During the conference, Professor James E. Krier of the University of Michigan Law School will be honored with the 2012 Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize, which is awarded by the William & Mary Property Rights Project in recognition of professional endeavors that affirm that property rights are fundamental to individual liberty. The conference will include panels on Professor Krier's impact as a scholar, the judiciary's role in shaping constitutionally protected property, property rights in times of economic crisis, and property's moral dimension.  The event will conclude with a round table on the fundamental nature of property rights. Registration is $50 (with an additional fee for the Oct. 11 reception and dinner). CLE credit will be available.

"This year's conference promises to be especially engaging," said William & Mary Chancellor Professor of Law Lynda L. Butler, director of the Property Rights Project.  "We are delighted that, once again, we will host the nation's leading scholars and practitioners, and that the occasion will give us the chance to honor Jim Krier, whose thoughtful scholarship has brought so many different disciplinary perspectives to bear on issues of property law."

The Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize is named in recognition of Toby Prince Brigham and Gideon Kanner for their lifetime contributions to private property rights and their efforts to advance the constitutional protection of property. Previous prize recipients include Professor Frank I. Michelman of Harvard University (2004), Professor Richard A. Epstein of the University of Chicago (2005), Professor James W. Ely, Jr. of Vanderbilt University (2006), Professor Margaret Jane Radin of the University of Michigan (2007), Robert C. Ellickson of Yale University (2008), Richard E. Pipes of Harvard University (2009), Carol M. Rose of the University of Arizona (2010), and retired U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor (2011).

Panelists include:
Alan Ackerman (Ackerman Ackerman & Dynkowski, PC),
Gregory S. Alexander (Cornell Law School),
Lynda L. Butler (William & Mary Law School),
Eric R. Claeys (George Mason University),
Robert C. Ellickson (Yale Law School),
James W. Ely, Jr. (Vanderbilt University),
Lee Anne Fennell (University of Chicago Law School),
William Fischel (Dartmouth College),
Rachel D. Godsil (Seton Hall University Law School),
Mark F. Hearne, II (Arent Fox LLP),
Eric Kades (William & Mary Law School),
Daniel B. Kelly (Notre Dame Law School),
James E. Krier (University of Michigan Law School),
Thomas W. Merrill (Columbia Law School),
Justice LeRoy F. Millette, Jr. (Supreme Court of Virginia),
Eduardo Moises Penalver (Cornell Law School),
Richard E. Pipes (Harvard University),
Carol M. Rose (University of Arizona),
Christopher Serkin (Brooklyn Law School),
Stewart E. Sterk (Cardozo School of Law),
Robert H. Thomas (Damon Key Leong Kupchak Hastert),
Joseph T. Waldo (Waldo & Lyle, P.C.)

Krier, the recipient of the 2012 Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize, is the Earl Warren DeLano Professor of Law at the University of Michigan Law School. He has been recognized for decades as one of the nation's leading property scholars. He is known to many students and law faculty as the coauthor (with J. Dukeminier et al.) of the groundbreaking casebook Property (now in its 7th edition). He has taught courses on contracts, property, trusts and estates, behavioral law and economics, and pollution policy. His research interests are primarily in the fields of property and law and economics, and he is the author or coauthor of several books, including Environmental Law and Policy, Pollution and Policy, and Property (7th ed.). His most recent articles have been published in the Harvard Law Review, the Supreme Court Economic Review, the UCLA Law Review, and the Cornell Law Review. A professor of law at UCLA and Stanford before joining the Michigan Law faculty in 1983, he has been a visiting professor at Harvard Law School, Yeshiva University's Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, and the University of Alabama Law School. He earned his B.S. with honors and his J.D. with highest honors from the University of Wisconsin, where he was articles editor of the Wisconsin Law Review. After graduation from law school, he served for one year as law clerk to the Hon. Roger J. Traynor, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of California. He then practiced law for two years with Arnold & Porter in Washington, D.C.

There is a $50 conference registration fee, which includes admission to all panels, the round table, and Friday's breakfast and lunch. There is an additional fee for the Oct. 11 reception and dinner. There is no registration for the conference for law students who wish to attend (but advance registration is requested).

For a brochure, click here (opens .pdf).  To register or for other information, please call Kathy Burger at (757)221-3796 (or email [[w|lsdevl]].