Join Us: Oct. 2 Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference

Joseph William Singer of Harvard Law School to be Honored at Event

Professor SingerWilliam & Mary Law School will host the 12th Annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference on Oct. 2. During the conference the William & Mary Property Rights Project will recognize Joseph William Singer of Harvard Law School with the 2015 Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize. The prize, named in honor of the lifetime contributions to property rights of Toby Prince Brigham and Gideon Kanner, is presented annually to a scholar, practitioner or jurist whose work affirms the fundamental importance of property rights.

The conference panels are free and open to the public. Registration and a $125 fee are required for printed materials, meals, and CLE credit (5.5 hours of CLE credit are available). For more information and to register for the conference, visit or contact Megan Wyatt at (757) 221-7466, [[w|mnwyatt]].

Topics to be addressed include property as a form of governance; civil forfeiture of property; pipelines, drilling and the use of eminent domain; and property rights in the digital age.

Speakers and panelists include:

Sara Sun Beale, Charles L. B. Lowndes Professor of Law, Duke Law School
Michael M. Berger, Partner, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP, Los Angeles, California
Michael Braunstein, Professor Emeritus of Law, Moritz College of Law, The Ohio State University, & Goldman and Braunstein, Columbus, Ohio
Scott G. Bullock, Senior Attorney, Institute for Justice
Lynda L. Butler, Chancellor Professor & Director, Property Rights Project, William & Mary Law School
Stephen J. Clarke, Partner, Waldo & Lyle, P.C., Norfolk, Virginia
Nestor M. Davidson, Professor & Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Fordham Law School
Jan G. Laitos, Professor of Law & John A. Carver, Jr., Chair in Natural Resources and Environmental Law, University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Peter S. Menell, Koret Professor of Law & Co-Director, Berkeley Center for Law & Technology, University of California at Berkeley School of Law
Frank I. Michelman, Robert Walmsley University Professor, Emeritus, Harvard University
Berne Mosley, President, Energy Projects Consulting, LLC, former Director of Certificates for Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, & former Deputy Director of Office of Energy Projects
Alan Norman, Co-Chair of Intellectual Property Department, Thompson Coburn LLP, St. Louis, Missouri
The Honorable Randall R. Rader, Professorial Lecturer in Law, George Washington University, & former Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
Arti K. Rai, Elvin R. Latty Professor of Law & Faculty Director, Center for Innovation Policy, Duke Law School
Arthur E. Schmalz, Partner, Hunton & Williams LLP, McLean, Virginia
Joseph William Singer, Bussey Professor of Law, Harvard Law School
James Y. Stern, Assistant Professor of Law, William & Mary Law School
Robert H. Thomas, Director, Damon Key Leong Kupchak Hastert, Honolulu, Hawaii
Sandra Guerra Thompson, Alumnae College Professor of Law & Director, Criminal Justice Institute, University of Houston Law Center
Laura S. Underkuffler, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & J. DuPratt White Professor of Law, Cornell Law School
Joseph T. Waldo, Partner, Waldo & Lyle, P.C., Norfolk, Virginia
Christopher S. Yoo, John H. Chestnut Professor of Law, Communication, and Computer & Information Science, & Founding Director, Center for Technology, Innovation and Competition, University of Pennsylvania

Previous recipients of the Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize include Professor Frank I. Michelman of Harvard University (2004), Professor Richard Epstein of the New York University School of Law (2005), Professor James W. Ely, Jr., of Vanderbilt University (2006), Professor Margaret Jane Radin of the University of Michigan Law School (2007), Professor Robert C. Ellickson of Yale Law School (2008), Professor Richard E. Pipes of Harvard University (2009), Professor Carol Rose of the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law (2010), retired Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor (2011), Professor James E. Krier of the University of Michigan  Law School (2012), Professor Thomas W. Merrill of Columbia Law School (2013), and Michael M. Berger of Manatt, Phelps & Phillips (2014).

About William & Mary Law School

Thomas Jefferson founded William & Mary Law School in 1779 to train leaders for the new nation. Now in its third century, America's oldest law school continues its historic mission of educating citizen lawyers who are prepared both to lead and to serve.