Law School to Host 14th Annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference October 12-13

William & Mary Law School will host the 14th Annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference on October 12-13. During the conference, the William & Mary Property Rights Project will recognize Professor David L. Callies of the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa William S. Richardson School of Law with the 2017 Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize. The prize, named in honor of the lifetime contributions to property rights of Toby Prince Brigham and Gideon Kanner, is presented annually to a scholar, practitioner or jurist whose work affirms the fundamental importance of property rights.

A registration fee of $200 includes printed materials, CLE credit, and breakfast and lunch. A separate fee is required for the conference dinner. For more information, and to register, visit the conference website or contact Ali Trivette at [[w|mtrivette]] or call (757) 221-7466.

Topics to be addressed include

  • The Future of Land Use Regulation: A Tribute to Professor David L. Callies
  • Challenges to the Western Idea of Property
  • Public/Private Partnerships, Civil Forfeiture, Infrastructure Takings, and Other Emerging Issues in Constitutional Protection of Property
  • Property Rights in Water
  • The Denominator Problem and Other Emerging Issues in the Regulatory Takings Field

Panelists and moderators include:

Robert H. (Bo) Abrams, Professor of Law, Florida A&M University

Alan T. Ackerman, Partner, Ackerman, Ackerman & Dynkowski, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Eric C. Alston, Scholar-in-Residence & Faculty Director, Hernando de Soto Capital Markets Program, University of Colorado Boulder

Craig Anthony (Tony) Arnold, Boehl Chair in Property and Land Use, University of Louisville, Louisville, Kentucky

Stuart Banner, Norman Abrams Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law, Los Angeles, California

Michael M. Berger, Partner, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP, Los Angeles, California

Toby Prince Brigham, Eminent Domain Trial Lawyer (retired)

Lynda Butler, Chancellor Professor & Director, Property Rights Project, William & Mary Law School

David L. Callies, FAICP, Benjamin A. Kudo Professor of Law, William S. Richardson School of Law, University of Hawaii at Mānoa, 2017 Brigham-Kanner Prize recipient

Kristen Carpenter, Associate Dean for Research & Council Tree Professor of Law, University of Colorado Law School, Boulder, Colorado

Stephen J. Clarke, Partner, Waldo & Lyle, P.C., Norfolk, Virginia

Holly Doremus, James H. House and Hiram H. Hurd Professor of Environmental Regulation, UC Berkeley Law School

Steven J. Eagle, Professor of Law, Antonin Scalia Law School, George Mason University

James W. Ely, Jr., Milton R. Underwood Professor of Law, Emeritus, and Professor of History, Emeritus, Vanderbilt University

John Groen, Executive Vice President & General Counsel, Pacific Legal Foundation Northwest Center

Mark F. (Thor) Hearne II, Partner, Arent Fox LLP Law Firm, St. Louis, Missouri

Gideon Kanner, Professor of Law, Emeritus, Loyola Law School

Linda A. Malone, Marshall-Wythe Foundation Professor of Law, William & Mary Law School
Renee Moulun, Assistant Attorney-in-Charge, Natural Resources Section, Oregon Department of Justice

Renee Moulun, Assistant Attorney-in-Charge, Natural Resources Section, Oregon Department of Justice

Zygmunt J.B. Plater, Professor of Law, Boston College Law School, Boston, Massachusetts; Coordinator, Boston College Land & Environmental Law Program

Angela R. Riley, Professor of Law and Director, Native Nations Law and Policy Center, UCLA School of Law, Los Angeles, California

Mark D. Savin, Fredrikson & Byron, P.A., Minneapolis, Minnesota

Shelley Saxer, Laure Sudreau-Rippe Chair in Law, Pepperdine University School of Law, Malibu, California

Robert H. Thomas, Damon Key Leong Kupchak Hastert, Honolulu, Hawaii

Joseph T. Waldo, Partner & President, Waldo & Lyle, P.C., Norfolk, Virginia

Previous recipients of the Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize include Professor Frank I. Michelman of Harvard University (2004), Professor Richard Epstein of the New York University School of Law (2005), Professor James W. Ely, Jr., of Vanderbilt University (2006), Professor Margaret Jane Radin of the University of Michigan Law School (2007), Professor Robert C. Ellickson of Yale Law School (2008), Professor Richard E. Pipes of Harvard University (2009), Professor Carol Rose of the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law (2010), retired Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor (2011), Professor James E. Krier of the University of Michigan Law School (2012), Professor Thomas W. Merrill of Columbia Law School (2013), Michael M. Berger of Manatt, Phelps & Phillips (2014), Professor Joseph William Singer of Harvard Law School (2015), and Hernando de Soto, president of the Institute for Liberty and Democracy (Lima, Peru) (2016).

About William & Mary Law School
Thomas Jefferson founded William & Mary Law School in 1779 to train leaders for the new nation. Now in its third century, America's oldest law school continues its historic mission of educating citizen lawyers who are prepared both to lead and to serve.