Faculty and Staff Recognized for Excellence

Each year at the end of spring semester, William & Mary Law School recognizes exceptional teaching and service with spring awards. Below is a list of honorees for 2021.

Teaching Awards

Walter L. Williams, Jr., Memorial Teaching Award
Each year the third-year class identifies a professor whose teaching they especially admire, and who is devoted to law and to students. This faculty member receives the Walter L. Williams, Jr., Memorial Teaching Award, named for a beloved former professor at the Law School from 1972 to 1991.
2021 recipient:
Stacy Kern-Scheerer

McGlothlin Faculty Teaching Award
The McGlothlin Faculty Teaching Award recognizes innovative, excellent educators who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to teaching. James W. McGlothlin ’62, J.D. ’64, LL.D. ’00 and Frances Gibson McGlothlin ’66, L.H.D. ’18 established the award in 2016 with a generous endowment to the Law School and the Mason School of Business.
2021 recipient:
Adam Gershowitz

1L Professor of the Year Award
The Class of 2023 awarded the third annual 1L Professor of the Year Award in recognition of a faculty member’s outstanding work with first-year students both inside and outside of the classroom.
2021 recipient:
Tom McSweeney

Service Awards

John Marshall Award
The John Marshall Award recognizes a faculty or staff member who has demonstrated “character, leadership and a spirit of selfless service to the Law School community.”
2021 recipient:
Laura Shepherd

Chris Creech Award
The Chris Creech Award, named in honor of the late Chris Creech, former Associate Registrar, is given annually to a deserving member of the Law School staff in recognition of outstanding service and commitment to the Law School.
2021 Recipient:
Betta Labanish

George Wythe Society Award
This award is bestowed by the George Wythe Society and recognizes a member of the Law School community who performs outstanding service and demonstrates fidelity to those qualities of character, leadership, and selfless service that distinguished the life of George Wythe.
2021 recipients:
Neal E. Devins
Moriah B. Allen