Four Faculty Members Appointed to Named Professorships

Professors Aaron-Andrew P. Bruhl, James Dwyer, Myrisha Lewis, and Timothy Zick have been appointed to named research professorships, William & Mary Law School announced today.

“Please join me in congratulating these members of our faculty who have received term professorships for the coming 2024–2025 academic year,” said Law School Dean A. Benjamin Spencer. “They are all outstanding, energetic scholars, and I look forward to seeing the fruits of their work in the near future.”

Engh Research Professorship
Professor Aaron-Andrew P. Bruhl, the Cabell Research Professor and Rita Anne Rollins Professor of Law, has received an Engh Research Professorship for the coming year.

Anna Engh J.D. ’89 and Charles A. (“Andy”) Engh, Jr. established the professorship to support an annual research professorship for one or more members of the law faculty.Professor Bruhl

Bruhl teaches and writes on statutory interpretation, federal courts, and the legislative process. His scholarly publications have appeared in leading law journals and have been cited by state and federal courts, including the U.S. Supreme Court. He was elected to the American Law Institute in 2014, and has offered expert commentary for television, radio, magazines, and national wire services. He is one of the most highly cited scholars in the field of legislation and statutory interpretation.

Bruhl received his J.D. from Yale Law School and holds a master’s degree in political theory from the University of Cambridge. After law school, he clerked for Chief Judge Carolyn Dineen King on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. He then worked as a litigation associate in the Washington, D.C., office of Jenner & Block LLP.

Bruhl joined William & Mary in 2015 and was a recipient of the Plumeri Award for Faculty Excellence in 2017 and the Walter L. Williams, Jr., Memorial Teaching Award in 2020.

William H. Cabell Research Professorship
Professor James G. Dwyer has been appointed the William H. Cabell Research Professor for the 2024-25 academic year. The professorship is funded by the Cabell Foundation of Richmond, which was established in 1957 by Robert G. Cabell III and Maude Morgan Cabell.Professor Dwyer

Dwyer joined the faculty in 2000 after teaching law at the Chicago-Kent and University of Wyoming law schools. He practiced law with Sutherland, Asbill, and Brennan; and Coudert Brothers; both in Washington, D.C., and worked in New York State Family Court as Law Guardian. At William & Mary Law School, he teaches family law, youth law, trusts and estates, and law and social justice.

Dwyer was selected for the Class of 2010 Professorship and three times for the Plumeri Award for Faculty Excellence. He was also a Visiting Professor at Harvard Law School during the fall 2019 semester. He received a J.D. from Yale University and a Ph.D. (Moral and Political Philosophy) from Stanford University.

Dwyer is the author of a number of books, including “International Migration of Children: Human Rights, State Power, and Nations' Duties” (Oxford UP, forthcoming 2024); the “Oxford Handbook of Children and the Law” (Oxford UP, 2020); “Homeschooling: The History and Philosophy of a Controversial Practice” (with Shawn F. Peters) (U of Chicago P, 2019); and many others.

W. Taylor Reveley III Research Professor – Myrisha Lewis
Professor Myrisha Lewis is the recipient of the W. Taylor Reveley, III Research Professorship. William & Mary President Emeritus and former Law Dean Reveley established the professorship in 2015 to allow faculty to pursue scholarly research.Professor Lewis

Lewis joined the William & Mary faculty in 2019, and her research considers how health law, family law, and criminal law respond to scientific innovations. In 2018, she was one of four professors selected nationwide as a Health Law Scholar by the American Society of Law, Medicine and Ethics and the Saint Louis University Law School’s Center for Health Law Studies. She is currently working on a book, “Subterranean Regulation: Science, Politics, and Reproductive Genetic Innovation (forthcoming from New York UP in 2026).

Lewis earned her A.B. in Government from Harvard College and her J.D. from Columbia Law School, where she was a case law editor of the Columbia Journal of European Law. Following law school, she spent four years as an attorney at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. While employed there, she also completed a seven-month detail as a Special Assistant U.S. Attorney for the District of Columbia, where she prosecuted domestic violence cases.

Prior to William & Mary, Professor Lewis was an Assistant Professor at the Howard University School of Law and a Visiting Assistant Professor at the IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law.

Robert E. & Elizabeth S. Scott Professorship
Professor Timothy Zick has been appointed to the Robert E. & Elizabeth S. Scott Research Professorship for the coming school year. Robert E. Scott, J.D. ’68, and his wife, Elizabeth Shumaker Scott ’67, established the Scott Research Professorship in 2003.Professor Zick

Professor Zick writes on constitutional issues, with a special focus on the First Amendment. He has written five books thus far on the subject, including, most recently “The Dynamic Free Speech Clause: Free Speech and Its Relation to Other Constitutional Rights” (Oxford UP, 2018), “The First Amendment in the Trump Era” (Oxford UP, 2019), and “Managed Dissent: The Law of Public Protest” (Cambridge UP, 2023).

Zick has been a frequent commentator in local, national, and international media regarding public protests and other First Amendment concerns. He testified before Congress on the Occupy Wall Street protests and rights of free speech, assembly, and petition.

Zick graduated summa cum laude from Indiana University and summa cum laude from Georgetown University Law Center. After joining William & Mary Law School, he received the Professor of the Year award and subsequently received three Plumeri Awards for Faculty Excellence and been named the Mills E. Godwin, Jr., Professor (2013-18), the Cabell Research Professor (2011-12, 2016-17) and the Scott Research Professor (2012-14). In 2022, he received the McGlothlin Award for Exceptional Teaching.