The Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference


Registration is now open for the 20th Annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference, October 26-27, 2023. 

To be placed on the mailing list for conference information, please contact [[w|lawevents]].

The annual Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference is presented by the William & Mary Property Rights Project and is named in recognition of Toby Prince Brigham and Gideon Kanner for their lifetime contributions to private property rights. The conference is designed to bring together members of the bench, bar, and academia to explore recent developments in the law that affect property rights. The Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Conference began in 2004 at William & Mary Law School.

The conference offers outstanding panel discussions and encourages active audience participation through question and answer segments with each panel. It also includes the annual presentation of the Brigham-Kanner Property Rights Prize to an individual whose work has advanced the cause of property rights and has contributed to the overall awareness of the important role property rights occupy in the broader scheme of individual liberty.

Brigham-Kanner Conference Coordinating Committee

Dean A. Benjamin Spencer, Dean and Chancellor Professor, William & Mary Law School

Lynda L. Butler, Chancellor Professor, Emerita, Outgoing Director, Property Rights Project, William & Mary Law School

James Y. Stern, Professor of Law, and Director, Property Rights Project, William & Mary Law School 

Andrew P. Brigham, Attorney-at-Law, Brigham Property Rights Law Firm, PLLC; Jacksonville, Florida

Conference Advisory Board

Joshua E. Baker
Andrew P. Brigham
Christi A. Cassel
Stephen J. Clarke
Stephen S. Davis
Mark (Thor) Hearne, II
Justin A. Hodge
Jeremy P. Hopkins
Shane Rayman
Joseph P. Suntum 
Brett S. Tensfeldt
Robert H. Thomas
Christian F. Torgrimson
Joseph T. Waldo
Blake A. Willis