Elmer J. Schaefer Workshop Series

medallionThe Elmer J. Schaefer Workshop Series features speakers from the faculties at William & Mary and other law schools, providing them the opportunity to present their work and engage in scholarly discussion.  Paper topics and formats vary widely from journal articles to book chapters. Attendance is limited to William & Mary faculty and invited guests.

Elmer J. Schaefer, Professor Emeritus, joined the Law School’s faculty in 1973 and retired in 2002. He was known as a dedicated and innovative teacher whose research focused primarily on antitrust and business regulation topics.

Fall 2021 | Spring 2022 | Previous Years

Fall 2021

Sept. 16 – Marie-Amelie George, Associate Professor of Law, Wake Forest Law.

Sept. 30 – Christopher Serkin, Elisabeth H. and Granville S. Ridley Jr. Chair in Law Professor of Management, Owen Graduate School of Management, Vanderbilt Law School.

Oct. 7 – Katherine Mims Crocker, Assistant Professor of Law, William & Mary Law School.

Spring 2022

Jan. 20 – Evan J. Criddle, Ernest W. Goodrich Professor of Law and W. Taylor Reveley III Research Professor, William & Mary Law School.

Jan 27 – Luke Norris, Associate Professor of Law, University of Richmond School of Law.

Feb. 17 – Sara Mayeux, Associate Professor of Law, Associate Professor of History, Vanderbilt Law School.

Mar. 3 – Brandon L. Garrett, L. Neil Williams, Jr. Professor of Law, Director, Wilson Center for Science and Justice, Duke Law.

March 10 – Nicole Huberfeld, Professor of Health Law, Ethics & Human Rights, BU School of Public Health, Professor of Law, BU School of Law.

March 24 – Elizabeth Scott, Harold R. Medina Professor Emerita of Law , Columbia Law School

April 7 – Kenneth R. Feinberg, The Law Offices of Kenneth R. Feinberg PC.

April 14 – Seth Davis, Professor of Law, Berkeley Law.

May 5 – Amanda L. Tyler, Shannon C. Turner Professor of Law, Berkeley Law

Previous Years

Steve Vladeck, Charles Alan Wright Chair in Federal Courts, University of Texas School of Law.

Kate Sablosky Elengold, Assistant Professor of Law, UNC School of Law.

Marin K. Levy, Professor of Law, Duke University School of Law.

Anita Krishnakumar, Professor of Law, Georgetown Law.

Daniel Schaffa, Assistant Professor, University of Richmond School of Law.

Nina Varsava, Faculty Member, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Wisconsin Law School.

Michele Bratcher Goodwin, Chancellor’s Professor of Law, UC Irvine Law.

June Carbone, Robina Chair in Law, Science and Technology, University of Minnesota Law School.

Naomi R. Cahn, Justice Anthony M. Kennedy Distinguished Professor of Law, Nancy L. Buc ’69 Research Professor in Democracy and Equity, Director, Family Law Center, University of Virginia School of Law.

Jim Hawkins, Professor of Law, University of Houston Law Center.

Jennifer Rothman, Nicholas F. Gallicchio Professor of Law, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School.


Visit the Elmer J. Schaefer Workshop Series Archive for more.