Visiting Students

An extended visit.

Students already attending other law schools are welcome to apply to William & Mary Law School as a visiting student. A limited number of students may enroll for credits to be applied toward the degree requirements of the visiting student’s law school. Non-matriculating students may not transfer to degree status.


We accept visiting student applications between May 1 and June 15 for enrollment in August. Students generally receive admission decisions in July and early August.

Steps for Applying:

(1) Complete the Application
Applicants should fill out and submit the LSAC Electronic Application.

(2) Submit the Application Fee
Submit a $50 (U.S. dollars) nonrefundable application fee by June 15 by making a credit or debit card payment through LSAC.

(3) Submit a Personal Statement and Optional Essay
Submit a personal statement indicating your reasons for seeking visiting student status at William & Mary Law School.

(4) Submit Letters of Recommendation or Evaluations
Submit at least two letters of recommendation or evaluations by June 15. One should be from a faculty member of your current law school. The letters should be sent directly to LSAC to be included in your CAS report. 

(5) Submit Letter of Good Standing and Permission from Degree-Granting School
Submit a letter of good standing from the dean of your current law school, written after grades for the last semester have been posted, stating that you are eligible to continue your studies for the semester for which you seek admission. The letter from the dean of the school must also grant permission for the applicant to attend William & Mary Law School and must state that credits earned at William & Mary will be applied toward the candidate's degree requirements at his or her degree-granting institution.

(6) Send LSAT Report and Academic Transcripts
Make arrangements to have a copy of your LSAT score and all undergraduate, graduate and law school transcripts sent to William & Mary Law School. The Credential Assembly Service (CAS) subscription fee is valid for five years and individuals can update their file and request a new CAS report without re-registering for the CAS service. Visiting student applicants must request updated transcripts with spring semester grades and, if available, class rank. The undergraduate transcript must show degree conferred.

(7) Apply for Virginia In-State Tuition Privileges
Applicants claiming entitlement to in-state educational privileges must complete the Virginia Application for In-State Tuition Privileges, save, and add it as an attachment to the electronic application.  If the admission application has already been electronically submitted, applicants applying for Virginia in-state tuition privileges must complete the form found on the University Registrar's website and return it to the Registrar by [[domicile,email]], mail, or fax.

Applicants who are active duty military personnel or honorably discharged veterans are eligible for in-state tuition privileges once they have moved to Virginia. Upon moving here, applicants should submit the Virginia Application for In-State Tuition Privileges and their military orders showing permanent duty station (active duty) or their discharge papers (veterans) to the Domicile Office at [[domicile]].


1. Completed application form;

2. $50 nonrefundable application fee paid by credit or debit card through LSAC;

3. Personal statement(s) including reasons for seeking visiting student status;

4. Two letters of recommendation or evaluations (one from a law professor);

5. Letter of good standing and permission to visit from degree-granting school;

6. Transcripts of all undergraduate, graduate and law school courses with final grades;

7. LSAT score report sent by LSAC; and

8. Application for Virginia In-State Tuition Privileges if you claim Virginia domicile for tuition purposes.