Celebrating the Class of 2020

{{youtube:medium:center|sbaYqePYr1g, J.D. and LL.M. Class of 2020 Virtual Celebration}}

On Saturday, May 16, at 11:30 a.m., the Law School hosted a virtual celebration for our Class of 2020 J.D. and LL.M. graduates. Speakers included: 

  • Davison M. Douglas, Dean, William & Mary Law School
  • Thomas J. McSweeney, Professor of Law
  • Rebecca Jaeger '20, 2019-2020 President, Student Bar Association 
  • Gordon Jiang '20, LL.M. Student Speaker
  • Darian M. Ibrahim, Tazewell Taylor Professor of Law and Recipient, 1L Professor of the Year Award (2020)
  • Aaron-Andrew P. Bruhl, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development, Rita Anne Rollins Professor of Law and Recipient, Walter L. Williams, Jr., Memorial Teaching Award (2020)
  • Preet Bharara, former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York and 2020 Selected Commencement Speaker
  • Anne E. Bomar '91, President, William & Mary Law School Association 

The Law School also hosted a virtual reception in the morning prior to the celebration via Zoom for LL.M. graduates. There were also multiple, simultaneous receptions via Zoom for J.D. graduates, organized by first-year sections, in the afternoon. During the receptions, faculty and staff had a chance to congratulate graduates, wish them well and thank them for their resilience!

About William & Mary Law School

Thomas Jefferson founded William & Mary Law School in 1779 to train leaders for the new nation. Now in its third century, America’s oldest law school continues its historic mission of educating citizen lawyers who are prepared both to lead and to serve.